Daniel George

Profile Updated: April 25, 2011
Currently Residing In: Novi, MI USA
Spouse/Partner: Shirley Van Dyke George
Occupation: Mechanical Engineer - Ford Motor Co.
Any children? When were they born? Brent - age 12
Matthew - age 9
Nathan - age 6
Yes! Attending Reunion
Where else have you lived?

Lafayette, Indiana

What did you do right after high school?

I attended BYU for one year, followed by an LDS mission to the Washington, D.C., South Mission. I came back to BYU, met and married Shirley, then finished getting my B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering at BYU. We then moved to Lafayette, Indiana, for two years where I received an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University. After that, we moved to Novi, Michigan, to work for Ford Motor Company and have lived there ever since.

Travel Much? What's the farthest you've been from home (Kaysville)? And, where is your favorite place to go? Give us your best travel tip.

I travel with my work, usually to very hot or very cold places or vehicle production locations. I travel to Phoenix, Arizona or Death Valley, California in August when it's nice and warm! I also travel to the upper peninsula in Michigan or Bemidji, Minnesota in January when it's really cold. The most interesting places I've been able to visit with work are Edinburgh, Scotland; Cologne, Germany; Amsterdam, Netherlands; and Mexico City, Mexico.

What would we be surprised to know about you?

I wasn't much of a car nut in high school, but working for an automaker will turn you into one. :-) I love racing and driving the latest vehicle prototypes. Some of my favorites are the Ford GT, Shelby GT500 Mustang, and the SVT Raptor F-150.